Post Process Plugin for Cura 15.06 guidance

gearsawe

Posted · Post Process Plugin for Cura 15.06 guidance

I am still very new to Cura. In 15.04 I made a simple post process plugin which modifies the g-code to work with a specific printer. The plugin has some parameters which could be adjusted and it would modify the gcode at save. This was pretty simple in 15.04. Now in 15.06 I am starting to understand how to add parameters to a printer configuration in the "fixes" catagory but how to pass these values to let sat a new GCodeWriter plugin is where I am completely lost. I tried to make my own "GCodeWrinerM3DMicro" but since it uses the same extension ".gcode" only the original gcode writer seem to be used. I did not want to modify the the Orignal GCodeWrite process and hard code settings into it. But make it optional for those who would like to use the software for more than one type of printer on the same system.

I am not a programmer by trade so I learn as I go. Forgive my lack of terminology understanding when it comes to pointers, imports, object, mutli-dimensional arrays and so forth.

So in my custom printer config if have a small snippet of code which show a value in to adjust in the fixes category. Maybe I am going about this all wrong. But how to pass these values into a custom gcode writer is where I am clueless. Any guidance would be appreciated.