Newbe problems with Cura

REMAP

Posted · Newbe problems with Cura

I thought I'd posted this a day or so ago, but can find no sign of it, despite seeing a reply I'd made to a different thread.

I'm a total newbe to 3D printing and have had my Ulitimaker2 for only a couple of days. I'm using the latest Cura 15.06.03 under Win7 Ultimate x64 and have encountered a few problems.

1). When closing Cura I get a message saying there were errors in 'Cura.exe' see logfile. As can be seen in the attached screenshot, the message tells me where the logfile is, but it isn't there. The screenshot shows the sorted folder that should contain the logfile. What'sd going on?

2). I've had a couple of attempts to print the planetary gears from Thingiverse (called Bearing 5, I believe). Attempt 1 used the default Cura settings, took 3 hrs, and, although it works, the gears are rather sloppy, so I tried again.

With the 2nd attempt I set it to Maximum Quality and tried to reduce the physical size by scaling to 75%. The print took 9 hrs, and the gears are no longer sloppy, but the size wasn't reduced and there's a very obvious fault line (lamination error/split) about 2/3 up. See the attached photo.

Why didn't the scaling work, and is the lamination fault due to Cura or the printer, or what?

5a331011a88d4_CuraLogError.thumb.jpg.1925d1a6fccd3b1fde7c4f465f4eaa11.jpg

Split.thumb.jpg.a1364e659493b491fc805be1a35abdcd.jpg

I haven't really used the new Cura so cant answer some of your questions but what filament did you use.

It looks like you have a few layers of under extrusion. This can be from a lot of causes. May have been a filament tangle or various other things.

When printing gears like this, sometimes when it's a bit loose, you can just increase the temp a bit. Say 5 or 10 degrees and this can tighten it up nicely.

Thanks for your response.