Ramps 1.4

Posted (edited) · Ramps 1.4

Hi,

I am  undergraduate student and i am new to 3d printers. I decided to build up my own Ultimaker original but i am confused about using Ramps 1.4 shield or using Ultimaker controller 1.5.7 because i can't find any documentation on how to make Ultimaker with Ramps 1.4 or what do i need to change in the connection or the firmware (marlin) to make it compatible with Ultimaker software (cura) especially i heard that ReplicatorG isn't supported anymore by Ultimaker.

So can someone explain to me what do i need to change in order to make it compatible??

And if i made an upgrade like making it with double extrudrer will it be easy to add this ? because when i installed cura software to try the wizard asks to upgrade to the latest marlin firmware and the firmware is in hex files so i can't edit the hex files.

Is it easy to do this or as a beginner i should buy Ultimaker controller 1.5.7 and later i make another one with Ramps 1.4?

Also i can't find any source to explain what are the main components i need , every time i search i find a lot of add ons like: thermo couple board , heating bed without finding what are the basics do i need exactly to make it work and then i upgrade it ..

Thanks in advance

Edited by Guest

Posted (edited) · Ramps 1.4

Hello Mahmoud,

Problem is not the simplicity of your question. It's the complexity of it, and also because it seems you have some misconceptions that needs to be addressed. But fear not :)

Controller 1

I'll strongly recommend using an Arduino + Ramps combination over the UM build. Partly because of the price, but mostly because you do not get locked down when going the Arduino way, and you can use the board for other projects later on.

The UM2 controller board is based on arduino + something and is just their own package of the same with some added features.