dual Olsson block for easy PLA- ABS switching on Ultimaker2

Posted (edited) · dual Olsson block for easy PLA- ABS switching on Ultimaker2

FrontPLA-ABS.thumb.jpg.46d3906128374cb17ee38099a1a8fa11.jpg

Triggered by a comment of @dim3nsioneer here on the forum I decided to try the setup of 2 Olsson blocks (@swordriff) in one head, to be able to quickly and safely switch between PLA and ABS, simply by operating separate hot ends and feeders for both materials. This also means you can use an alternative for your PTFE coupler for ABS (for example 3dsolex IPM coupler) but it's also usefull if you just use 2x PTFE, as the one used on ABS, with higher temperatures may get deformed, and will still be ok for ABS but not for PLA. In this test setup I used a standard PTFE + Korneels "spring replacement tube" for PLA, and a IPM coupler for ABS. I'm just beginning using this, and am also relatively inexperienced in using ABS. When printing at 250 celsius, with a closed top and front the temperature of the nozzle not in use will stay at 70 celsius, so no problem for the unused PTFE I guess.

Hardware

You need to bassically get all the stuff you would need for a dual extrusion setup. Spare yourself the time to try printing dual extrusion this way, I does not work. Make sure to always detach the unused nozzle, else it will damage your print, this also means you can't do this setup with 2x Ultimaker2 nozzles, you need an Olsson block.

TheStuffYouNeed.thumb.jpg.f61744f64569376bd00cab5461439164.jpg

For the 2th feeder there's a wide range to choose from, most use Robert's, I use my own derivative of this, specially with the ABS temperatures I like my feeder motor outside of my machine.

https://www.youmagine.com/designs/feeder-for-ultimaker-2-rail-system