how much does pla generally shrink?

SG91

Posted · how much does pla generally shrink?

Hi,

It depends of the material, probably the brand and maybe the color also. I'm not an expert in this but generally for PLA we talk about 2 to 5% shrinkage.

I think it can also be dependent of the model itself and the constraint that plastic is generating on the overall object..

Posted (edited) · how much does pla generally shrink?

Okey cos I did A tube 15mm outer diameter with 2mm thick wall.

And 10.75mm inside diameter.

it just fitted tight on A 10mm axle . so I guess for that dimension it shrinks 0.75 ?

Its about 7% ?

Hi,

It depends of the material, probably the brand and maybe the color also. I'm not an expert in this but generally for PLA we talk about 2 to 5% shrinkage.

I think it can also be dependent of the model itself and the constraint that plastic is generating on the overall object..

Edited by Guest

In addition to shrinking, you have another effect when printing holes: the hot PLA has a somewhat rubbery consistency. On the inside of a hole, it will slightly contract while still molten. on the outside this isn't possible, because usually there is already an inner perimeter in place.

Is it tight over the entire length of the tube? The first layers usually get squished onto the glas and therefore the PLA might build what is called an elephants foot.

Vertical holes are MUCH smaller than intended due to what avogra says - not because of what you might have thought.

PLA only shrinks about .3% from glass temp to room temp. ABS .6%. That .6% makes it twice as hard to keep ABS from lifting off the bed as the part cools but has little to do with dimensional accuracies.

I often have to print 3mm holes to take a M3 bolt. I always specify a 1.6mm radius and the bolt is a perfect fit.

It isn't shrinkage, just the PLA squeezing into the space.

The elephants foot on the bottom layer adds a bit more but that is only 1 layer thick.