Heated bed on UM2GO and in general

Posted (edited) · Heated bed on UM2GO and in general

Hello,

I've been printing for a few months on Printinz Zebra plate using Faberdashery PLA. Prints stick good, sometimes too good :)When the adhesion is too strong I have to remove the plate and twist it to release the print. Recently it got really annoying because once the plate is warped, I have to straighten it and recalibrate the bed.

So I am contemplating purchasing heated bed for UM2GO from 3dsolex. Two questions:

1. Anyone use it? Have good or bad experiences to share?

2. This is about printing on heated bed in general not necessarily on UM2GO. Is it reasonable to expect regular PLA to stick well to heated glass without using hairspray/glue stick/ etc? Maybe just wiping the glass with isopropyl alcohol before print? I really don't want things to get sticky and messy.

Thanks.

edit: typos

Edited by Guest

Posted · Heated bed on UM2GO and in general

I use it and it's great. You will have longer start times as you have to wait for the heat bed to heat up first. Also due to the nature of the heat bed you need to set I higher then the standard um2 heat bed.

Yes you can print without glue but you need to make sure it's leveled well and don't have fans come on 2 quickly. I use gluestick and it lasts over 1 month and is not messy. The reason I use it as I also print with nGen. That's the best thing about the heated bed. You can print with more materials.

The kit comes with a 35w heater which is another great upgrade. I actually installed a 50w in mine instead which makes the start up times super fast but this is not required.

As I own a UM2 then converting the UM2GO was a must.

Thanks @Labern for reassurance. Will definitely order one.

Does the heated bed warm up before the nozzle and not at the same time? How long does it take? If a minute or two, then no problems.