Re-design the print head to centre the Nozzle?

Posted · Re-design the print head to centre the Nozzle?

Hi Guys,

First of all, I'm new here to the forum, and searched for an answer to my question but couldn't find one. If the answer is somewhere out there, please excuse me for double posting.

I purchased a new Ultimaker 2+ last week and it's great! The bed levelling is easy and it's printing reliable with PLA since the start. I use it mainly for prototyping (I'm a freelance engineer by profession).

One thing I noticed in several prints (including the Ultimaker robot) is that the right side suffers from insufficient cooling compared to the left side. Obviously this is due to the bigger distance between the right fan and the nozzle.

Has someone considered re-designing the printhead so that the nozzle is deadcenter in relation to both fans? I'm considering to do this redesign and test it but before I give it a go I would like to hear from the Experts here what issues (hardware and software related) I could run into. The biggest challenge (hardware related) as far as I can see is that the shafts have to be placed off-center so the hot-end and filament feed can be place in the center.

Hope to hear something from you guys!

Kind Regards,

Bart

Hi Gudo,

Wow, that looks great, thanks for sharing! It's exactly what I was thinking. Please keep me (and the rest of us off course:)) updated when you have assembled the head! I'm really curious if we can gain some serious benefits out of this, in terms of cooling of course, but also the build volume could increase slightly am I right?

You're right ! only the head XY support increase a bit in square,

the goal is to re use the UM stock parts, sliding bearings, stock or Olsson heat block, isolator, PTFE etc...., and that will not needs any software modifications

20160608_151831.thumb.jpg.bfb04a272e837d1facc2971fd8125c2b.jpg

I currently test different designs before fixing the project