What are these dark spots?

TheRealJoost

Posted · What are these dark spots?

While printing Taulman t-glase clear I am starting to see this dark spots and stripes (see picture). Can't quite figure out what is going on. I am printing with 255C/60C - am I perhaps too hot and burning the material as it prints? If so I would have expected a more continuous stream of carbonized material.

Thoughts anyone?

IMG_1229.thumb.jpg.aa67860fa91f5d37e914c6980870a8cc.jpg

IMG_1229.thumb.jpg.aa67860fa91f5d37e914c6980870a8cc.jpg

Yeah, that is what I thought. I've done a few initial prints that did not have this though that was with lower temps, layer adhesion seemed ok but i did not closely inspect. What surprises me is that I get this little poop-lets instead of a sort of continuous stream of dark material. It is as if some part circulates in the block/nozzle a bit, gets burned and then comes out.

I am no expert in plastics but wonder if the nozzle's internal structure is not optimal. Oh well, I will need to experiment a bit more to see if prints can be made with good adhesion and no burning.

it is because these materials are more sticky (PET,nylon) than PLA. Loose extruded fragments are dragged externally along the nozzle and at some point get dropped somewhere. The only way to avoid it is to sit by the printer with tweezers and clean the nozzle tip when this happens or optimize your gcode to avoid these loose fragments (speed, temp., retraction, combing, etc)

• Like 1

Sometimes it's brown goo that stays between the ptfe/hotend or ptfe/i2k. I had to do quite a lot of atomics to remove it completely because I had some of that on some hightemp prints. Also a perfectly clean nozzle helps.