Can I use 3 in 1 oil for lubricating the axis?

JTBrown

Posted · Can I use 3 in 1 oil for lubricating the axis?

3 in one is an lubricant only, it is not WD40

The company that owns the brand 3in1 is called WD40 Company hence the confusion

I have been using 3in1 on my UM2 for almost three years it is recommended for sewing machines, so I plan to continue using it, unless anyone knows better ?

3 in one is an lubricant only, it is not WD40

The company that owns the brand 3in1 is called WD40 Company hence the confusion

I have been using 3in1 on my UM2 for almost three years it is recommended for sewing machines, so I plan to continue using it, unless anyone knows better ?

While it can work, it can damage the shafts, also if it lands on any electronic component it can damage it. So yea, not recommended. But hey, even butter can work!

While it can work, it can damage the shafts, also if it lands on any electronic component it can damage it. So yea, not recommended. But hey, even butter can work!

I have done a lot of research today trying to ensure I am using the correct lubrication product for my UM2, I have ordered some clear oil (marketed as Connex) which is very highly recommended for sewing machines

neotko do you have a source for your comment that 3 in one could cause damage to the shafts ?

I can confirm I have no plans to pour 3 in one on to any of the electronics or even butter for that mater

3 on 1 removes dust and oils. WD40 is the same but other brand and use to have some oil. So while it can work to leave it clean (if used after disassembling the parts) you end up running the bushings without lubrication so the erosion will end up eating the shafts external metal, making dents and worsening the smooth movement. Ofc bushings and shafts can work with almost zero oil but is better just oil to have a thin film of oil between the parts and protect them both + smooth movement.

This IMO