Extruder Calibration

greens83

Posted · Extruder Calibration

Hello,

I understand the concept of calibrating the extruder but cannot find anything telling me how to extrude 100mm of filament. Can I do this via the Ulti controller ? when I press extrude on the move axis>extrude command it extrudes way more than 1mm as stated in the ultimaker wiki. Do I have to write some G-Code ?

You can take away the bowden tube, put the filament in the motor, make a mark in the filament and run this code:

G91  ;relative positioningG1 E100 F300 ;extrude 100mm at half max speedG90 ;absolute positioning

Make a second mark in the filament, take it away and measure it. I suggest extruding 1000mm of filament in order to get better precision.

And tell us the outcome of your calibration! :D

Ok so when I tell the Ultimaker to extrude 100mm it actually exrudes 102mm. What do I need to change to make it extrude 100mm ?!

Thanks in advance for any help here, I am a complete novice in 3D printing !

Ok so when I tell the Ultimaker to extrude 100mm it actually exrudes 102mm. What do I need to change to make it extrude 100mm ?!

the default e-steps/mm is 866. your new/correct e-steps/mm would be 866*(100/102)=849

if you set this into the FW, or via the UC menu, you should be good.

Thanks. I wasnt sure how to change the value in the firmware or via the UC. Instead I modified the g-code like this:

M92 E848.909

G91

G1 E100 F300

G90

This then extruded 98mm ! Im now very confused.

Any help would be very much appreciated. Is modifying the g-code the wrong way to do this ?

Thanks. I wasnt sure how to change the value in the firmware or via the UC. Instead I modified the g-code like this:

M92 E848.909

G91

G1 E100 F300

G90

This then extruded 98mm ! Im now very confused.

Any help would be very much appreciated. Is modifying the g-code the wrong way to do this ?

maybe you did something wrong measuring the 102mm? i would go back to the 866 and leave it at that.