Ultimaker 3 vs LulzBot TAZ 6

Posted · Ultimaker 3 vs LulzBot TAZ 6

hey guys im new to the 3d printing world,

currently i have been given the task by my workshop to gather info about 3d printers as we are looking for one.

we will be making replacement parts, little and bigger project boxes, etc.

i like the the look of specs both the Ultimaker 3 and LulzBot TAZ 6 what are some benefits and concerns about both and any other solutions will be appreciated.

cheers

I looked at a lot of printers when I wanted to get my first one. I can tell you why I went with Ultimaker to start with:

1. It is a complete ecosystem that is still open source. By this I mean that it has its own filament system and profiles setup for that system. Makes it easier to learn on and then branch out.

2. I liked the mostly enclosed volume.

3. I am not crazy about the printers that move the bed as well as the print heads. That increases the footprint. That is a real concern in tiny Brooklyn Apartments, and I have one that is bigger than most. But by the time I put in my own dry box setup to feed materials, it will grow. But it will not move and can adjust where and what size boxes I make them from.

4. This does not mean I will not get a Lulzbot as they are worth serious consideration. Just looking at it from the noob perspective.

I've heard a lot of good about the Lulzbot but agree with the above....I do not like the bedplate moving for prints. I prefer the enclosed setup, so that some filaments that need to have special considerations for heat/venting can be addressed easier.

I've watched a lot of Lulzbot 6 reviews and they have really left me underwhelmed. Nothing really made me go "Wow".

The Ultimaker 3 is a very well tuned machine. Frequent improvements and strong community support for it. The print resolution is outstanding and the PVA supports are very impressive.

The Cura software makes using it a cinch.