Getting corrugated wall/edges and random dents on a flat surface, ABS Ultimaker2+

GTK2011

Posted · Getting corrugated wall/edges and random dents on a flat surface, ABS Ultimaker2+

Hi everyone,

I am pretty new to the 3D printing, and recently I used the Ultimaker2+ with ABS to print some of designs for my college project. I need some help from guys.

The geometry of the design is pretty simple, mostly rectangular shapes with no overhang. But I am consistently getting corrugated edges as shown in the images attached. I am also getting small dents and granule-like bumps on a completely flat surface, which I could not get it shown clearly in the photos.

The intended shape:

Capture.thumb.JPG.dd558e06239fbd6906bdf9055b2cb04d.JPG

The print I got:

584873940309473302.thumb.jpg.441687e47a21ec12d7fe2a98ff09217c.jpg

504721300479222732.thumb.jpg.267a8dd8c2b99e081c04f54ed5fe462a.jpg

15019216331299442.thumb.jpg.524285e954d72925daf09d7aa7996b59.jpg

I am using Cura 2.4.0. The firmware version is 2.4. The default high quality profile was chosen. The nozzle size is 0.4mm and material is ABS bought from ultimaker official site.

Any idea what is wrong and how I could improve the print quality? Thank you guys in advance!

Posted (edited) · Getting corrugated wall/edges and random dents on a flat surface, ABS Ultimaker2+

ABS is quite a bit more difficult to print and it's probably going to be much weaker than PLA. Also white PLA is the hardest color to print because I think of all the talc added maybe? So I assume white ABS is the hardest of ABS filament - but I never tried white ABS.

Does this need to withstand a lot of heat? Is it going to be in a car or something?