Learning from the Noobverse for all the noobs having fun with the UM3

kmanstudios

Posted (edited) · Learning from the Noobverse for all the noobs having fun with the UM3

Just a hopeful hint that the clumsy noob here can help others just learning like myself.:p

OK, this is a follow-up thread on the Enterprise as it was chock full of surprises. A bunch of pics with stages of development.

First, this is the Enterprise as I originally printed it with a working stand design (Third redesign). The Enterprise fails mostly because of the material I chose plus a detail or two were too small for decent printing. The material curled a bit on the leading edge of the Saucer and the Deflector Dish needed to be  expanded to print at this resolution: 0.1MM/100 Microns.

CrappyprizeDetail.jpg

The Enterprise failed mostly due to the material choice (Matterhackers Nylon) as it is too flexible. You can see the nacelles starting to warp.

The Stand was the worse thing to correct as material change did not fix the issues. This is the first attempt while the Nylon was soaking to dissolve the PVA. Really bad and too spindly to be printed with success as I did so. Just...so...BAD!!

ReallyBad.jpg

This one shows that the material change helped, but still too spindly to print well. And the print speed was too high to lay detail without swinging the thin parts around like an old car antennae in the wind.

Better_ButNotgood.jpg

Better_TooFastPrint_TooThinDesign.jpg

This shows that a better design (not too spindly) and a speed correction made a lot of difference. Over all, for the second color, I slowed the print in Cura, but also caught it when it was doing the small cradle parts and adjusted in the machine to 65% of that speed so that it did not whip around the thin parts while printing. Acceptable print with minimal clean-up.

ProperPrint-Design.jpg

This design held the Enterprise snuggly while not being obtrusive to the overall aesthetic. The Ship print is still crappy.