How to prepare model from image based 3D modelling

Posted (edited) · How to prepare model from image based 3D modelling

Hi everyone,

we have just got the new Ultimaker 3 Extended so I am very new to all of this - but here goes my question.

We are focused on Image Based 3D modelling (Structure from Motion). We create 3D models from aerial and "earth-bound" photogrammetry - see my models here.

We use Agisoft PhotoScan for the 3D model creation. Most of my models have geographical coordinates (which shouldn't mind).

The problem with my models is that they are not "closed" - just a "shell" - as can be seen here, if you turn the model "upside down".

The source data (STL) may be downloaded here..

What software should I use to build the "volume" (base and the side walls) of my 3D model??

Thank you for any help and any tip.

Jan

Edited by Guest

It depends on what you want to do.

I have experience in 3DS MAX (Former ACI) and am learning Blender and 3D Coat.

I would imagine that Blender and 3D Coat would be able to either add thickness or some such.

If the scan results present a contiguous surface, here are steps to fix in 3DS MAX in almost any version ever made.

1. Import model

2. Convert to Editable Poly. Much more robust than standard mesh type and better tools to work with. Z is the vertical axis in 3DS MAX and Cura.

3. Go to 'Element' Subobject and click around. If all of it gets selected, then it is properly welded into a single element. If it just selects portions, then do steps 4-6. If it selects all of the model while in Element Subobject, Then go to step 7.

4. Go into vertex mode and select all.