July 26 4.30pm CEST. 'I'm a Material Engineer at Ultimaker for 3 years. AMA'.

SandervG

Posted (edited) · July 26 4.30pm CEST. 'I'm a Material Engineer at Ultimaker for 3 years. AMA'.

'Hi, I'm Tom (@TomHe). I'm a Material Engineer at Ultimaker, I started in 2015 as an intern to finish my Chemical Engineering Master from Eindhoven University of Technology.' ...

Tom has worked for Ultimaker for 3 years already and has played a role in many of the Ultimaker products we all use regularly. Tom started in 2015 working on PVA. His graduation project evolved around producing and 3D printing carbon nanotubes, and graphene filled materials (for electrical conductivity). Other responsibilities Tom joyfully carried; the first print profiles for the Ultimaker 3 and everything PVA related. Putting together 3D print profiles also include determining the best nozzle geometry, Cura features and supplying values for all settings used in Cura.'

Tom will start replying at 4.30pm CEST.

Edited by Guest
  • Like 3

• Replies 73
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Posted · July 26 4.30pm CEST. 'I'm a Material Engineer at Ultimaker for 3 years. AMA'.

The topic is open, if you already have some questions feel free to post them here! I have collected some over the last few days (a couple came in via Twitter) and I will also share them here at 4:30pm.

First question from @Didierklein, 'I have a question, i recently discussed with someone who is using PP at his work, he told me it's possible to weld PP parts together (like you do for metal). He was very interested in the new PP filament from UM, and asked me if it would be possible to do it with printed parts.

Also is it possible in the future to have different colors for PP ?'

Posted · July 26 4.30pm CEST. 'I'm a Material Engineer at Ultimaker for 3 years. AMA'.

Hi Tom, which are your favorite and least favorite smelling printing materials?

Hey Tom,