Filament not sticking with steel nozzle.

Lukephos

Posted · Filament not sticking with steel nozzle.

Since switching to a stainless steel nozzle on my UM2+ I've not had a successful print. No matter what setting I've tried the filament will immediately curl up around the tip of the nozzle, gliding over the plate without a care. I have been able to get it to stick a little with some attempts but It does lift quite a lot and more likely than not if it has to retract when it starts again it will curl up. I've not been able to get past the first layer. I really don't know what it could be, I've tried different build plate heights, different temperatures for it and the hothead. I got more success with much lower temperatures but the filaments is meant for 220 to 240 degrees c and the build plate 75 to 85. It doesn't help that this is my first time using the filament too. Before switching nozzle I was still using the ultimaker filament, I switched to colorfabb ngen. Please help, it'd bloody annoying. (Sorry this is a repost, just figured it'd be better here rather than where I put it before. When one gets answered I'll delete the other.)

Try with a ruby nozzle. Seem pretty solid to me even though might be a bit expensive for the casual user? Or a different kind. Is there a specific reason it has to be steel?

When I was looking at videos about things like wood or metal filaments they kept saying you need a steel nozzle to handle the abrasive filament since it's made with small beads. I didn't even know there where ruby nozzles. Either way I'd rather get this nozzle working, unless there's somehow something wrong with it.

Heat conductivity of a steel nozzle is poor. For any non abrasive material like pla or ngen don't use it, switch back to a normal nozzle.