The great shrink!

Clancey

Posted · The great shrink!

Hello again.

A couple of days ago I was searching around for some brown and green PLA, I found a site selling of exactly the colours I needed. This never (and I mean never) happens to me, so I bought a lot of it.

I've tried printing with it today, and maybe I now understand why it was cheap and on sale!

It lays down lovely, the first layer looks better than anything else I've printed, except maybe the nylon, but as printing progresses you can see each printed layer shrinking and pulling the bottom including brim off the bed. I'm using the best sticky thing I've found so far, hair spray, but to no avail.

I thought maybe increasing the bed temperature but I'm still new to this lark so thought I'd ask before spending 3 days plays without any results.

Thanks folks.

Hi,

I think more information is needed (maybe the brand of the filament?)

First thing that comes in mind is printing temperatures, and maybe first layer adhesion ? Is it delaminating or just warping a lot? PLA normally almost doesn't warp...

It does everything! Honestly. Getting it to stick to the plate is a nightmare, if I get it to stick the layers start to separate, if the layers don't separate the edges 'flop' and I get spaghetti.

I've been playing about with it again today, I have a 3D scan of a garlic which I find a really good test object, it has some lumpy and some smooth surfaces, but natural. I can also test wall thickness and how different infills react with the walls and overhangs.

After 6 failed tests this evening I currently have half a garlic which hasn't gone wrong yet. I've had to put the temperature up to 250 to get layer adhesion, the speed down to 50 so the layers have longer to melt together. I've had to add a 10mm brim, and a 25% tetrahedral infill to keep the sides together.

The boxes that are marked (some aren't marked at all) say 3DFilaPrint (In an overseas trading partnership)