Stumbling through the forest of 3D Modelling - what software for newbie?

nzo

Posted (edited) · Stumbling through the forest of 3D Modelling - what software for newbie?

I was going to PM this to kman who has huge experience of 3D modelling, but then I thought my question to him and possible forum responses may help others who find themselves walking in my beginners shoes.

I have zero experience in 3d modelling. I've d/ld and looked at FreeCad, Meshmixer and OpenScad and come away confused. I've learned Photoshop and Dreamweaver over my years as a web designer and can use them almost intuitively - but 3D modelling leaves me perplexed. I'm a visual learner and I learn by doing, as in "Tell me and I'll forget, show me and I may remember, let me do it and I've "got it"!

I'd appreciate your advice on what software I can noodle my way through to what I'd like to model: printer parts, simple engineering parts such as brackets to hold stuff, how to make a model thicker and stronger, how to stretch part of a model, how to create holes, how to slice off what I don't need, how to turn a 3d model into a valid STL I can use on the UM2+.

Thanks for listening! Please chime in if you want kman :)

Edited by Guest

Posted (edited) · Stumbling through the forest of 3D Modelling - what software for newbie?

3D Modeling can be a pain. Mainly because the language used by the makers of the software use sloppy language.

Example: Specularity can be called, gloss, shine, etc.

Example: Surface of Revolution can be called a lathe, revolve, etc.

Although they all use basically the same paradigms when in certain modes of operations. Nurbs will always be like nurbs, mesh will always have triangles, etc.

It is tough to recommend a package as each one can be the magic tool just because it suits a thought process of the individual who is using it. Person A can love program A but it is anathema to Program B and vice versa.