Does brittle (easily snapped) PLA filament equate to less strong prints?

nzo

Posted · Does brittle (easily snapped) PLA filament equate to less strong prints?

I am not a materials expert, but I suppose so. Lets tag @TomHe for some insights. PLA can get brittle when it has been lying next to a radiator for example or is just plain old. Nothing of the 3D printing process (heating it up, cooling down again) would reverse this process, if anything I can imagine it makes it worse. A small print would probably break equally fast, a thick/big print would be stronger because the stress will be divided over many more layers, however, compared to a 'normal' PLA print I think it would break faster.

Posted · Does brittle (easily snapped) PLA filament equate to less strong prints?

In my experience it doesn’t matter as long your feeder doesn’t snap it, or due bowden pressure it snaps inside the bowden. I have printed 2 years old open in the air plas with my bondtech & directdrive without any effect on the prints that I could see. Ofc I dont print + try to break it to see if works better or not.

Posted (edited) · Does brittle (easily snapped) PLA filament equate to less strong prints?

I have printed 2 years old open in the air..

but was it also brittle?

Indeed very (the filament). The print is on a sliderblock working just fine

Edited by Guest

I don't know if brittle PLA filament breaks at a lower or higher forces than fresh and more flexible PLA. But if you have circumstances where the model has to flex to function, then brittle will break faster.