Print Text Without Base Material

Posted · Print Text Without Base Material

Hello. I'm trying to print solid letters with no base (i.e. cutout stand alone letters). My approach thus far has been to use a graphics program to create the letters, save as an image, then import to Cura.

Photoshop > PNG > Cura > Ultimaker 2+

Here's an example of my image file from Photoshop

TextTest.png

What I'm seeing is Cura does not seem to respect transparency. When I import a PNG or GIF that has transparency enabled, Cura displays a solid block.

With transparency disabled, I will see the extruded letters, but always with what I believe is considered a "base".

CuraTextWIthBase.png

Even though I'm setting the base value to 0mm in the import image dialog.

CuraConvertImage.png

Thanks for your help and patience. I'm completely new to CAD software and 3D printing. My first post to the forum.

I have never tried this approach via images, so I can't comment on that.

But if you want to print 3D-shapes, letters or whatever else, I would suggest you design them in a 3D-editor. Then you can get everything right in the 3D-editor itself. And you can slant the edges, etc.

I use DesignSpark Mechanical. This is good freeware by RS Components, and only requires registration. It is a limited version of the commercial SpaceClaim 3D-editor. This has an easy to learn interface, similar to SketchUp. There are lots of good training videos available on Youtube. In a few hours you can design simple objects. In a few days, you can design complex objects.

However, it has no built-in text features, so you have to work around: or draw the characters yourself, or import them from another editor, or use the "dimensioning tool" instead. Google for: how to make text in designspark mechanical.

Try to avoid SketchUp: this causes problems, since a lot of shapes are not "watertight": thus they are no solids, but sort of "cardboard" models with infinite thin walls.