Having Trouble Printing

d3lt4ONE11

Posted · Having Trouble Printing

hey guys I'm a brand new rookie to 3d printing. Very excited to learn all the ins and out of it. I'm having some issues with printing right now. Here's a little background and my systems/hardware:

-Alunar M505 printer (prusa i3 clone, cheap DIY printer to learn on)

-Cura 3.1.0 software

-painters tape print bed

-1.75mm PLA filament

After assembling the printer and doing my best to "zero-in" and calibrate the bed and all the axis, I've tired to print out a test print to see the quality/make sure I did everything right. Well here's the thing, I can't get the filament to stick to the print bed. Here's what I've tried to remedy the problem:

-printer has a heat bed, but I just read that heated painters tape does not act as a good adhesive when heated, so I turned off the heat to the bed after which the filament stuck a bit better, but still no go

-I also read that filament not sticking is also a product of an uneven/unlevel bed, well I tried my best to tweak and fine tune this to be as near perfect as possible (being a newbie, maybe I'm still messing something up there but I've tried to level all 4 corners of the bed to a postit note height between bed and nozzle tip)

After this, its still not sticking, and obviously the first few layers are critical to the integrity of the print. One final thought, it seems like the extruder is not putting out enough filament, not sure if this is a common misconception to a rookie or if i need to adjust the speed/output of the filament.

Any help or advice would be GREAT! Thank you in advance for help and patience with me. If it would help, I'm more than happy to provide pics/videos for what I have