Prime blob knocked down (Cura/UM3)

upatamby

Posted · Prime blob knocked down (Cura/UM3)

Hi,

I'm new to 3d-printing so I prefer using the standard settings of Cura.

Every print starts with a prime blob. I guess that's ok. But as soon as the prime blob is ready the print bed starts raising at the same time that the print head starts moving. That causes the print head (to be more precise: the bottom of the front fan) to hit the top of the prime blob. If the prime blob is PLA then it just flattens a bit but it stays on its place. But if it is PVA then the prime blob often falls down and sticks to the print head. The print head then drags the blob onto the center of print bed, ruining the rest of the print. 

Request:

Isn't it possible to alter the Cura-software (or is it the firmware?) so that the print bed waits a second before starting to raise after the print head has started to move to avoid this collision?

• Like 1

7 hours ago, kmanstudios said:

I do not run into this problem.

What version of Cura and printer?

Cura version is 3.1.0.

Printer is Ultimaker 3 Extended with firmware 4.1.4.20171204

@upatamby it is controlled by a mix of ultimaker cura settings and firmware configurations as far as I know.

See: https://community.ultimaker.com/topic/17772-is-anyone-else-having-issues-with-the-initial-knead-of-material-being-pulled-into-the-print/

Personally I would prefer a simple line like everyone (prusa, makerbot) does to prime the nozzle as I had some problems at the start too. It's just once in a while now. 

If you don't want the prime blob you can disable it in cura. Search for: "Enable Prime Blob".  If disabled I recommend to use a few skirt line or a bigger brim to prime the nozzle.

Maybe Ultimaker will change or add more options for priming in the future but this can take a while due to varios reasons. 

My idea would be a tap under system called advanced -> priming strategy -> prime blob, prime line, maybe even something else.