unequal brim thickness

diederik

Posted · unequal brim thickness

Hi all

I am relatively new to 3D printing and I have an Ultimaker 3 that I can use for some weeks. 

I have already encountered (and solved) a dozen problems, but I noticed that the brim (or first layer(s)) on the back left of the bed are very very very thin, much thinner than on the rest of the bed. 

I attached a picture to illustrate it. The pictures is far from superb, but you can see the brim having a much lighter color (caution: the back of the bed is on the picture at the left side).

It is not so much of a problem till now, the rest of the print is okay. But maybe when I will need to print a larger object, it might become an issue. 

Is this because of the bed not completely level ? 

However, before printing this object, I ran the auto-level function....

If this would be the result because of a nonperfect bed-level, is it because this part is too high or too low (I would say too high?)? 

IMG_20180101_220212143.jpg

wow!  We have a didierk and now a deiderik both from Belgium.  Actually didierk is now didierKlein.

Anyway I like my brim that thin.  It means the part will stick VERY WELL! :)

But you can just turn the rear screw 1/4 turn clockwise to pull the rear of the bed down a little bit.  I often adjust the 3 screws while the brim or skirt is printing on the bottom layer.

I don't like the auto level for many reasons.  So I recommend disabling that.  Also you should be aware that the glass probably isn't flat but the autolevel assumes it is and does a best fit plane.  Hopefully a future version of the firmware will do a more complicated transformation to compensate for a more complicated glass surface.  Anyway it may be that the best fit involves the rear center being a bit high as in your photo but the rear corners being a bit low (which is very common as typically the glass is thicker in the very center).