Mixed Colour Printing

Hr202

Posted · Mixed Colour Printing

Hi i am very new to 3D printing,   "Mixed Colour" printing with a single extruder, twin feed mixing head (I hope you understand me). Does anyone know how to set the settings to allow for this mixed colour printing?... I am using Cura V3.1....Thanks

AFAIK, there is no way that Cura will let you extrude using two extruder motors at the same time, at least not out of the box. You would have to edit the gcode, either manually or using a post processing script.

I don't know of a slicer that does, but I only really know about Cura. Perhaps the Prusa edition of Slic3r?

Since you are new to 3D printing, I would advice you to first get comfortable with printing with a single material/color, then find out all the issues of printing with two colors in a single print (without mixing!). Once you know how all that works, you can start with the experimental stuff (ie: mixing).

• Like 1

12 minutes ago, ahoeben said:

I don't know of a slicer that does, but I only really know about Cura. Perhaps the Prusa edition of Slic3r?

Since you are new to 3D printing, I would advice you to first get comfortable with printing with a single material/color, then find out all the issues of printing with two colors in a single print (without mixing!). Once you know how all that works, you can start with the experimental stuff (ie: mixing).

Taking this to heart, I would also ask you to define what you mean by mixed colour printing. That has a broad range of options in my head and it would also depend on what printer you are using and whether it can do 1.75mm filament or not.

But @ahoeben is right about learning the basics solid first.

Ahoeben...Thanks for your reply   I think this is a wise suggestion

Kmanstudios ... The am I allowed to say which printer it is? but anyway It does take 1.75 filament but the hot end is a 2 x 1.75 filament in, but only 1 nozzle out See Pictures