Cura 3 showing smooth object but printing blocky

opy01

Posted · Cura 3 showing smooth object but printing blocky

Ok so I did some searching but not quite sure what wxactly to search for.  I’m new to printing and kind of new to 3D software.  I’ve downloaded a couple of items that have stl and obj files.  I can load the obj into Cura 15 and you can see all the flat areas like a lower poly object.  In Cura 3.1 it looks perfect and smooth like I want it to print, but when I look at the layers it looks like it sliced the lower poly that Cura 15 showed.  I’ll attach images. If you look at the image of the top view sliced, you can see the tail shows the blocky look is takingaboutas well as the body have flat edges instead of round.

2 questions

1. How do I print the high quality smooth obj that I loaded?

2. Why does Cura 3.1 show it smooth but not slice it like that?

thanks for any and all help ?

C6ECF5DD-FA89-4A5F-858C-2840C08C78FD.jpeg

FB956852-8C4A-4960-BE4E-02D20ADF735C.jpeg

855F3529-B426-4F04-9AC4-B31C053F440B.jpeg

The part is low poly (lowish).  It is what it is.  The bottom image looks smoother probably because they used some "smoothing" feature built into openGL which is the library that displays these polygons in 3D.  

Both obj files and STL files define vertexes and triangles.  They don't support the description of curved surfaces.  So it's just a matter of how high a resolution (how many triangles) you want - the higher the qty of triangles the smoother the surface gets.  At some point you are smoother than the curvature of the nozzle and there's no point and increasing triangles.

You could ask the original designer if they have a higher polygon version of the model.  I suspect when you print it you won't see the polygons anyway.  For the most part.