New to 3D printing

OOC

Posted · New to 3D printing

Not sure if this is the correct area to post this. I am new here. Very sorry if it’s not.

Hello all,

I am new to 3D printing. I bought a Prusa MK2 i3 last year and have had nothing but trouble with it. I have been researching the UM3extended for the last 2 months. I have a few questions.

1) Is the extended worth the extra money?

2) Can you make any decent money 3D printing with this machine or is this more for hobby and have fun? The reason I ask is because I’m trying to get my son involved into something that he can learn, make money at, and to possibly start up a small business with. He currently builds stuff in Blender and loves it.

Thank you all very much for your time.

John

Posted · New to 3D printing
    2 hours ago, OOC said:

I don't think so.  It would be better if it was a wide printer, not a tall printer.

2 hours ago, OOC said:

2) Can you make any decent money 3D printing with this machine or is this more for hobby and have fun? The reason I ask is because I’m trying to get my son involved into something that he can learn, make money at, and to possibly start up a small business with. He currently builds stuff in Blender and loves it.

Better to make things that people need (say a vent replacement for a particular brand of car or knob for a particular brand of stove - my sister in law needed 4 new ones at $70 each - wow - I made ones just as good for almost no money) and sell them on ebay.  Being a 3d printing hub is also possible (or used to be possible) at 3dhubs.com.  Lately though it's a lot more work to become a hub so I'm not sure that's a good route.

Another good route to make money is to design plastic and metal jewelry (think of ear rings shaped like dolphins) and sell it on shapeways which will do the actual printing and shipping to customers but you still need a 3d printer to test out your designs (well - it helps).

Posted (edited) · New to 3D printing
    2 hours ago, OOC said: