Why is PVA a different kind of support?

Dragon2781

Posted · Why is PVA a different kind of support?

Hi,

I'm new to the 3D printing topic and I have some questions.

My first question is:

Why is the PVA support incasing the object and is it possible to deactivate this?

When I use the normal PLA as a support material, it is supporting only the overhangs.

But when I use PVA as support, the whole object gets wrapped in it, even on spots where no overhands exist.

The PVA is very expensive. Is Cura intentionally wasting PVA so Ultimaker is selling more of it?

I have the problem that little flakes of the PVA gets between the PLA layers.

After all PVA dissolved in water I end up with little gaps/holes in the object.

If the PVA would be used like normal support this would not happen.

Because of reliability. If you print very small bits of PVA, the PVA will remain above the degradation temperature longer, causing clogs. Combined with pva being less "study" as PLA, you need to ensure a min support size to ensure they don't get knocked over.

The default settings are a bit on the safe side, so in quite a few cases it should be safe to change it. You're looking for the  support horizontal expansion setting.

As for the problem that you describe, that sounds more like a wipe problem (the nozzle oozing a bit when it shouldn't be printing)

There's a second good reason for this.  The feature is called "horizontal expansion" and for pva support it defaults to 3mm.