Cura 3.2.1, Dual extruder 2-to-1 hot-end Problems

GI_J0E

Posted · Cura 3.2.1, Dual extruder 2-to-1 hot-end Problems

I'm new to 3D Printing and I have a Zonestar Z8XM2 printer.

It's a decent machine after a few upgrades (like belt tensioners and spool holders) and has a Chinese made complete-knockoff cyclops 2-to-1 hot-end.

They didn't even copy the cyclops from their drawings, they basically designed their own so parts are not interchangeable.

Whatever... it works. If I have problems, I'll worry about it then.

I've been able to get good single color prints and I'm happy with the cheap printer after the modifications.

It's capable of color mixing, but I haven't even started down that path yet...

I've done many single color prints successfully and now a print with 2 different parts, each their own color, but I noticed an issue with the color ending up in the other part when it shouldn't.

Now I know my 'Prime Tower Minimum Volume' was set FAR too small and didn't extrude all of the previous color out before switching colors.

Luckily the color was on the inside walls and isn't noticeable when assembled.

What I'm working on now is a single part with 2 colors.

The problem that I'm having is when Cura starts a new layer, it's jumping from color 2 immediately to the color 1 without using up all of color 2 first or using the prime tower.

For the first layer, it appears to work correctly, it will extrude color 1, go use the prime tower with color 2 thus getting the rest of color 1 out, then uses color 2 on the print.

Now, when it moves to the 2nd layer, it immediately switches from color 2 to color 1 and starts printing without getting the rest of color 2 out first.

So obviously whats going to happen is the first however many lines of the 2nd layer comes out as color 2, then will fade to color 1 and will finish up color 1 as it should for that layer.