Cura Connect | Survey Read more... ×
Ultimaker Community of 3D Printing Experts
cdrose

Filament Checking and Storage

Hi all,

I'm brand new to 3D printing but have a lot of experience in 3D modelling and CAD design. Recently got my second hand (pre-owned) UM3 and extremely happy with it.

I have had problems with the PVA bubbling, popping, burning and grinding which I've read means it's absorbed too much moisture. I think previous owner either didn't store it correctly or during transit it abosrbed moisture as it wasn't bagged up.

I've now invested in plastic sealable bags and packets of desiccant, I have also ordered a new spool of PVA to see if I have the same issues. Fingers crossed!

I have a few questions:

1. How should PVA look? White/Yellow/Milky?
  2. How flexible should it be?
  3. How long does it take for PVA to absorb too much moisture?
  4. Does the average household room pose a risk to the PVA while using it to print with for long hours?
  5. How to identify / check any filament for quality / moisture absorbtion?
  6. Same questions for PLA too?

I hope this isn't too many questions!

Thanks,

Chris

I don't know all the answers.  The flexibility is similar to pla I think - why - is yours very flexible?

The best way I know to test if it absorbed too much water is that it sizzles when you print (and you can also see steam coming out of the nozzle).

You want to keep PVA and Nylon extremely dry.  I have dried nylon by setting the bed to 99C and letting it sit for 6 hours under a blanket on the bed.