Printing Won't Center

Tom Herd

Posted · Printing Won't Center

I am new to this in all aspects, so if answered please be simple and figure I know nothing - you will be right.

CURA 3.2.1 downloaded and using with Tevo Tornado printer 300x300x400. After slicing a model of mine, and trying the samples that came with Tevo's SD card, the printing seems ok. The problem is not there, but with getting the building to center on the Tevo bed. The build starts close to the home position (front left corner) to the extent that part of the object is cut off. If I move the imported STL file picture/model to the far right back of CURA's base plate in the slicer then when Tevo starts the build it end up toward the center but still in the front left quadrant.

On You-Tube a subscriber told me to try his bennchy gcode file for a CR10. I did and that build went directly to the center - great! If his is a gcode problem I have no idea on what or where to put in a fix.

In machine settings in cura - for your printer - you have to tell it the bed dimensions.  It uses those numbers to place the object in the "center".  I suspect it has the wrong values there - probably 150mmX150mm instead of 300X300.

The Tevo Tornado specifications are 300-300-400mm. In the manual it shows these as the bed size and 320-320-400 as overall.

Home brings the head to the front left side, very close to the edge. If I manually through the printers controll box move the head 150 X and 150 Y it does go to the center. Someone on YouTube had me try a CR10 G-code file of bennge (the boat sample?) which did go to the center and printed well. Thus, I am still confused. Thanks for the reply!