First tests of architectural prints

viralata

Posted · First tests of architectural prints

Hello,

I'm an architect, passionnate about Blender, so it didn't took me long to fall into 3D printing :-P

Here are the first tests I did after printing downloaded model to test, the pictures are not so great, and the layers are not so visible in reality:

First test for overhangs:

20130530_012.jpg

A print of an old blender model, and the render of the same model. I printed it in 2 sizes the big one took 8 hours, the small 7 minutes in fast low quality. Once again, I wanted to test the overhangs ability, and I was impressed:

20130620_014.jpg

village6.jpg

And then a test for a workshop I may attend (I will organize workshops about the use of 3D printing for architects later anyway), to see how fast a small nice model can be printed for the people to take their model home. 10 minutes in low quality, 20 in normal, 25 mm long. No support needed :eek:

20130620_015.jpg

Nice work. I've just started experimenting now with the new 'LAYBRICK' filament that is basically printable stone. I've had good results with it, though not yet quite what they advertise. I'm still impressed with my results and I think it would be great stuff for architectural prints.

Cheers,

Troy.

love the "desert structures" .. we get a lot of student-architects in and would love to show off your models to them (printed in laybrick / sandstone filament).

Would you care to share some of your work(files) with the community so people can see what is possible and to spark their imagination ?

demo3dmodels @ fablab013.nl

grtz,

Pete

I would be happy to share my work under a Creative Common licence, I just have to take the time to choose the models that work.

You can check my site there to see some of the things I would like to print, if I manage it :smile:

some example of my design classes with Blender

some videos I did

By the way, I have to test this laybrick filament.