[Ubuntu] Cura 3.2.1 can't find USB connected printer

redalbino

Posted · [Ubuntu] Cura 3.2.1 can't find USB connected printer

Recently switched from Windows to Linux and first time using Cura, so I'm still a bit of a newbie.

I'm trying to connect my TEVO tarantula with the MKS base 1.4 board over USB, however Cura can't find it. I've read online that it might have to do with the automatic serial port detection not working correctly and that I should instead edit the settings file to choose a set COM port. Here my knowledge with the Linux operating system falls short cause I can't find where the Cura AppImage saves its settings files?

I use cura from ubuntu.

Try ~/.config/cura

But I don't see anything in there about "com" or "usb" or "port".

Posted (edited) · [Ubuntu] Cura 3.2.1 can't find USB connected printer

Cura 3.x has no way to specify the port, it only has automatic discovery. That’s the same on all OSes.

Edited by ahoeben

As far as I remember the user (= you) that runs a software which should communicate with usb-ports must belong to the group "dialout" to use the ports.

Give it a try, just open a terminal  an type in

sudo adduser xxx dialout

where "xxx" is your username.

• Like 2

• 1 month later...
    On 11/3/2018 at 6:52 PM, berndjm said:

As far as I remember the user (= you) that runs a software which should communicate with usb-ports must belong to the group "dialout" to use the ports.

Give it a try, just open a terminal  an type in

sudo adduser xxx dialout

where "xxx" is your username.

A little late, but I can confirm that

"sudo usermod -a -G dialout [your_username]"