Weak prints

Posted · Weak prints

Hello,

I have been having print issues when printing anything more complex then a pipe. Below is an example, the pipe printed which looks perfect to me. But the cone is shows a lot of imperfections through.  The cone is mostly mostly hollow, it is a part for a spool holder. I am pretty new to 3d printing and I am having trouble finding the issue. I have tried leveling the bed, checking the gantry to be square, and cleaning the whole extruder assembly. 

I am using Cura 3.2.1 and a Hictop ( creality) cr-10s.

2018-04-06 19.18.37.jpg

Posted · Weak prints

That's severe underextrusion.  I don't know the CR-10 so I don't know what would cause it.  The most common causes is simply printing too cold or too fast.  Too fast might mean simply the layer height is too thick - when I talk about printing speed I multiple nozzle width X speed X layer height.  The higher the temp, the less viscous the plastic is and so you can print faster (but quality goes down).

Anyway the first thing to try is to print at 1/3 the speed.  Another possibility since it seems fine on many layers in a row is that your Z axis is dropping suddenly for no apparent reason.  Maybe the Z driver overheats and the bed falls?  Does the CR-10 have a bed that goes up and down?

• Thanks 1

Posted · Weak prints

Thank you for the suggestion. The cr-10s has dual threaded rods for a z axis. The gratry moves up and is the x axis. The bed is on the y axis. I upped the flow rate to 160% in cura and reprinted the same object. It was still a little off but it was much better. I am going to look up doing a esteps calibration to correct it. Thank you for the quick help!

Posted · Weak prints