Heater Error

Posted · Heater Error

A large print failed leading to a mass of melted plastic around the printer head. I heated the head and removed the mass of plastic. when i reassembled the head, I keep getting a Heater Error message. The Heater is getting to about 90° before the error appears. From reading previous posts it appears the code is protecting the heater, 

Is there a fix for this? What parts do i need to replace?  

Apologies for using the wrong terminology- I'm new to this! 

20180410_134235[1].jpg

Posted · Heater Error

Hi @gordon-obrien

thank you for your post and welcome to our community!

First off, I took the liberty to change your username by removing your email handle for privacy reasons. Hope you don't mind. 

Could you share a photo of the backside of your print head? Is there any visible damage? It is possible that during cleaning a wire got damaged which is causing this error message. The PT100 which reads the temperature is not as strong as a cable as the heater cartridge. 

Posted · Heater Error

They don't look very damaged to me (Does not mean they are not damaged but would have been easier to detect). On photo 2, did you already start taking it apart or is that how far the cartridge heater and PT100 are inserted? If so, they should be inserted much further. 

Do they read room temperature correctly, when you just turn on your Ultimaker but don't heat it up?

What does your PT100 read when you heat it up with a blowdryer for example? 

Posted · Heater Error

They insert fully- i had loosened the screw. 

I read somewhere on here about doing a factory reset- since I've done this I can't see a temp reading to test it as the error occurs during set-up at the material insertion phase. 

Posted · Heater Error

Was it these tips that you followed?

Posted · Heater Error