Ultimaker Community of 3D Printing Experts
osarda

Loading materials issue

Hello Ultimaker community,

I just got my new Ultimaker 3 this week. I am new to the 3d printing world and it's very exciting. 

Had a few issues to resolve before I got my 1st prints and I haven't tried PVA yet. My questions to you all is - Is it normal that when you load materials, the filament stops halfway through the transparent tubes? I have to wait for the motor to slowly pass it through to the printcores to see filament come out. Sometimes it doesn't and I have to reload it all over again. I find this process cumbersome and buggy. Any ideas on how to improve it? It seems to stop halfway 90% of the time. 

Thx in advance guys. Looking forward to exchanging ideas and advice on this forum.

Cheers,

Olivier

That's never happened to me.  Although I haven't used this feature in a year I can safely say it's a very reliable feature on a working printer.

For one thing you can just squeeze that lever on the feeder and slide the filament in by hand the second half (that's how I do the entire filament load anyway).  Actually I use this tool:

https://www.youmagine.com/designs/wedgebot-for-ultimaker2

Okay so what is wrong with your printer.  Well I can think of 3 things:

1) Your bowden is too long.  Seems unlikely.

2) steps/mm is set wrong for the extruder.  This seems unlikely because didn't you imply that sometimes it works perfectly?