Need help with settings? and or STL help.

menglor

Posted · Need help with settings? and or STL help.

Good morning,

So fair warning, I am totally new at this so, optimizing settings is way out of scope for me currently.

Short version is, I am trying to model something in TINKERCAD, and then 3d-print it.

I did everything I though I needed too, and Cura is reporting the print job will take 12 hours.  someone over at Thingyverse said he loaded my STL and its reporting only 2 hours.

so, without knowing more about what HE is doing, I am wondering if there is anything I am doing wrong (posted are my settings)

I am using Ultimaker 3.3 and using a Anet A8.    I wouldnt care too much if it was 2 vs 3 hours,  but 2 vers 12 thats a lot!

The design I am aiming for is to print an object that is   1" x 1" x 6"   kind of like a baking tray,  I want to print things inside the "tray" then pour in colored epoxy, and turn it on a lathe.

I have seen it done successfully with simple lines., but I would like to make more complex shapes.

so I have a few questions:

1 - are my settings ok?  and is it just because of what I did in the model?   

2 - is there a better way to "fill in the gaps?  I basically placed all the hearts and just dropped blocks around it to fill it in. then grouped them.

I am looking for any and all recommendation and help.

new_heart.stl

Untitled.png

I'd go to 0.2mm layers.  That should save you a ton of time.  And I'd probably print it slower and with 0% infill.  

Default settings for me in cura said 7 hours.  That was with .2 layers, 10% infill, 3 shells (you have 2 which is plenty) and print speed at 30mm/sec (all print speeds).

To get this down to 2 hours you could maybe use a 0.8mm nozzle and do one pass on the walls with 0.3mm layer height.  And maybe increase the print speed to 40mm/sec.

0.1mm layer is not going to increase the quality much if at all.  You'll probably get a better quality with 0.2mm layers and a slower printing speed.