Stringing on Pillar Help

BeEazy

Posted · Stringing on Pillar Help

Hello, I am new to 3D printing and am currently optimizing my Ultimaker 2 Extended+ using Cura. (2.85mm PLA)

I am in the process of changing retraction settings, but am having trouble. I am currently printing pillars, but keep running into the same issue. As the pillars get taller, they get thinner at the top, and my printer ends up printing the tops too fast, causing stringing. I'm not exactly sure which setting I can change to make the tops print slower. Any advice?

1615367363_PillarTestResults.thumb.jpg.75d3c84a33b20538b9853e057cf1aa9e.jpg

This is called a torture test for good reason.  The filament doesn't get much time.  You want to set the travel speed as fast as possible but it's going to string a little no matter what.  These strings are pretty easy to remove by hand.  One thing you can try is lowering the temperature.  A lot.  Maybe even as low as 180C  but be careful as the filament gets more viscous and you might get underextrusion if you print too fast at 180C.  You could also print with a smaller nozzle such as the .25.  Make sure fan is at 100% but that's the default so you can't do much there.

On 6/25/2018 at 7:05 PM, gr5 said:

This is called a torture test for good reason.  The filament doesn't get much time.  You want to set the travel speed as fast as possible but it's going to string a little no matter what.  These strings are pretty easy to remove by hand.  One thing you can try is lowering the temperature.  A lot.  Maybe even as low as 180C  but be careful as the filament gets more viscous and you might get underextrusion if you print too fast at 180C.  You could also print with a smaller nozzle such as the .25.  Make sure fan is at 100% but that's the default so you can't do much there.