Tolerance settings

bman

Posted · Tolerance settings

I have tried to print a few threads that were designed in Fusion 360. The thread size is M6 and 1/4" which is needed to mate a 3D scanner to a tripod.

I have printed thread before using Ideamaker and slic3r and both give me a good fitting thread.

I would like to use Cura as my regular slicer, but everytime I do threads using Cura they come out too small. Cura is a great program with many options but I am still new to 3D printing and I have not been able to find the best settings to achieve repeatable tolerance.

I have printed, on Cura, calibration cubes ( no holes or threads) and they are good.

Any suggestions?

Thank you

If you print a cylinder vertically or a cylindrical hole vertically they come out smaller than desired.  Especially the holes.  This is because PLA comes out like a liquid rubber band - like snot - it cools rapidly and shrinks and is stretchy and sticks to itself like snot.  Combine these properties and it's like a liquid rubber band.

So as it gets laid down around a vertical cylindrical hole, it pulls inward and the diamter of the hole is typically 0.4mm smaller than desired.  Because of this I usually add 0.4mm to 0.5mm to every vertical hole diameter (half that if radius) in CAD.

Solid cylinders are also smaller but not by as much if the outer layer goes on last because the inner layers help support.  I'm not sure how much they shrink - maybe only 0.1mm.

Basically if you are printing a nut I would look at the diameter of the hole and scale up X and Y (but not Z) by the right amount to add 0.5mm.  Or you can set horizontal expansion to -0.5.  That shrinks the outside of the part and enlarges vertical holes.

If you are printing a screw I would probably leave it as is.