General questions about print quality. New User.

aaron

Posted · General questions about print quality. New User.

I am new to this hobby and need a bit of help. I got the Ultimaker because it was rated the most accurate out of a pool of many. My prints right now are okay but they are not as gorgeous as the ones everyone displays that they printed with their Ultimaker. So here are my questions:

1. Do you recommend using Cura? Is there a better program?
  2. Is there a guide somewhere giving detailed fixes to certain problems with a print (ex. higher temp affects aspect 1 and feed rate affects aspect 2)
  3. Does anyone have any helpful tips that they think could help?
  4. How do you get rid of the string trail the hot end drags with it everywhere when it prints.

This is also a little unrelated but I am having an issue with brown liquid plastic oozing out of the threads of my heated block and nozzle. How can I fix this?

Any response is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

So many questions...

I am having an issue with brown liquid plastic oozing out of the threads of my heated block and nozzle.

I haven't had this problem. Some people say if you ignore it eventually the volatiles evaporate and you are left with a nice permanent plug. Sounds like maybe your nozzle wasn't screwed in all the way? If you try to tighten it now though you might break it. Definitely heat it to 240C before trying to screw or unscrew the nozzle and be gentle as brass isn't very strong. If it's really a problem I recommend posting a photo in a separate (new) thread.

guide somewhere giving detailed fixes to certain problems

google. Or ask in this forum.

How do you get rid of the string trail the hot end drags with it everywhere when it prints.

Not sure what you mean. I'm guessing maybe you mean the first few minutes? Always print with a skirt by default. If the string doesn't come off as soon as it starts printing the skirt, your bed isn't close enough to the head.