Gyro: some rare effect on a side

coduy

Posted · Gyro: some rare effect on a side

Hi everyone, a complete newbie here so sorry if this is a silly question. I am doing a Gyro print and wondering what're those PVA "hair" doing at one of the sides, right opposite to a prime tower; marked with red arrows on an attached photo. I know this doesn't really matter as this is just a support but would like to know if this is something to do with prime tower or seam option that are in Cura custom settings. Is this a starting point of each layer?  In other world I would just run another print job to test it but seeing the print cost I prefer save some euros by asking the community.

Many thanks!  

photo.png

I see the same; always along the one vertical edge which is often the ending point for the Print Core extrusion prior to it heading to Prime Tower.

If I were to guess; the retraction is simply slow when compared to how quickly the Print Core moves towards the Print Tower and because it is support material it has not been a concern presented by many.

Like you; I would like to see it crisper looking and yet I also share that the PVA support has allowed us to do much so I have not thought much about it because within minutes of the print completing it is getting a bath to remove all of it.

Enjoy

• Like 1

I will try to explain the behavior we can see here.

First, PVA and the BB print core with its different inner shape, tends to drip more than PLA and the AA print core.

And when one layer has finished and the head moves to the prime tower a retract happens. But a retract don't mean that the nozzle stops immediately to extrude material. So the filament will be pulled back, but there is still some melted material in the nozzle and this material drips out, resulting in those strings.

• Like 2

10 minutes ago, Smithy said:

First, PVA and the BB print core with its different inner shape, tends to drip more than PLA and the AA print core.