Part by automatically moved by Cura

Posted · Part by automatically moved by Cura

I am trying to load 2 files. On is at a higher Z height because I am changing filament and starting next file. But Cura will not position them the way I designed them in Fusion360 and they are on there side for some reason. I could really use some help. I am a little new to 3D printing

Cura will try to avoid placing models on top of each other.

To get them to work together, right click and choose 'slect all' or 'CTRL-+A'. Then right click and click on 'Merge Models'. Provided they are modeled correctly, they will align themselves as they were made and then group them.

The difference between merge and group is that merge places them in their proper locations and then groups them. Group will just group them wherever they are placed as a unit on the buildplate.

You can rotate the group and it will retain the relationship. Then click on the part you want to move while holding down the CTRL key (if on a Windows keyboard) and you will be able to move it separately).

So the way I designed it in Fusion was a cylinder standing vertically with 2 bodies. When I import them into cura however, they are placed horizontally and I am unable to get the 2nd body in the air. Then I need to only print one of the bodies. The one on top is where I am going to change the filament

It is flipped because of a difference in Y up or Z up axis.

Have you tried to manually rotate the objects after being merged?

Yes that works but then it is one body

On 11/25/2018 at 9:31 PM, kmanstudios said:

Then click on the part you want to move while holding down the CTRL key (if on a Windows keyboard) and you will be able to move it separately).

There you go...

I did that but it is ONE body and if I make it seperate bodies the top one moves down because it is suspended in the air on nothing