3D Benchy Print Issues

JackL

Posted · 3D Benchy Print Issues

So I have some experience with 3D printing, doing it at my school. But recently, I got a new Ender 3, and so I'm need to learn Ultimaker Cura, which I thought would be good to use for it. In adding some basic upgrades to the printer, I thought it would be a good idea to get some benchmark using 3D Benchy. On my first print of Benchy, I saw some salmon skin artifacts, as well as some random bumps on the sides of the Benchy, and some random lines on the deck. So I installed some TL Smoothers and printed the same Gcode. On the result, most of the salmon skin was gone. However, the other problems still remained.

159934123_InkedOld-New-BenchySIDE.thumb.jpg.2f520622401c9e0598764a3636714ce4.jpg

**SIDE VIEW: Left side is first Benchy print- notice the salmon skin near the top of the ship. Right is second Benchy print- after TL Smoothers are added. Circled in red are the random dots**

I'm pretty sure that I can fix the lines on the deck of Benchy by turning combing off. Please, correct me if I'm wrong.

427953479_InkedOld-New-BenchyTOP.thumb.jpg.cf00048abb1aa3d89c16f465662f7e14.jpg

**TOP VIEW: Left side is first Benchy print. Right is second Benchy print- after TL Smoothers are added. Circled in blue are the lines on the deck of Benchy**

However, I'm not really sure about the bumps on the side of Benchy though. I don't believe it's a problem with my filament because the bumps are consistent. All bumps are in the same spots, on both prints. Maybe it has something to do with the extruder doing this (circled below in BLACK) in the Gcode (attached if you want to look at it), because the areas where the dots are seems to correlate with the places in the Gcode where the extruder does this. If this is not the problem, what is? How do I fix this?

201266056_InkedOldBenchySIDECLOSEUP.thumb.jpg.7a551946d3a21976dd0e6ad4771e7f0b.jpg