Noob Questions about Different Slicing Techniques

Posted · Noob Questions about Different Slicing Techniques

Hello Ultimakers!

My name is Luc, a brand new user, both to the Ultimaker and these forums. Recently, I've been reading a lot of forum posts in which people are talking about different slicing engines for varying applications. Apparently, some are better than others at certain things, and as a clueless noob, I was hoping to create a post in which a large amount of this kind of information can be compiled. I haven't seen a post like this yet; I've just been catching hints and glimpses at what people are talking about individually. Usually though, I have no idea what they are talking about.

So Ultimakers, can you explain different slicing engines to me like I'm 5?

I have taken an interest in this topic recently when I noticed a part that I was printing started taking VERY strange paths to complete the print. Basically, the part was finishing up and had only a few tall spots to complete, so it was jumping all over the place to finish these last few posts. However, the order in which it was trying to complete this part seemed chaotic. In fact, sometimes, the part would move from one post to another, and not even try to retract. I was left with long, full beads of material strung between opposite sides of the part. Pics 2 and 3 in this album really highlight this problem.

http://imgur.com/a/YSKay#DLzVzPH

Now, these were fairly easy to clean, but I can't help but wonder what the heck was going on with the gcode. I have a 7 second layer timing built into the programming. Is it possible that the gcode is trying to stay within this parameter by jumping all over the place, seemingly out of order of what the most efficient print would be?