PLA and PVA support interface

Posted · PLA and PVA support interface

Hi everyone,

First time on Ultimaker forum, hope you'll be able to help !

I've been using for a couple of years a Utilmaker 3 printer with PLA in Extruder 1 and PVA in Extruder 2.
Now that Cura offers multiple parameters in support mode, I've been optimising the support interface in order to only use PVA for "Support Interface", the main support being made of PLA.

The problem I often come across is that the "Support Interface" in PVA doesn't stick to the pattern PLA support built under it.

I tried different support options but nothing really solved the issue. The only parameter helping was increasing the (PLA) support density making a more solid base for the PVA but printing time is highly impacted.
I think that maybe adding an intermediary PLA support interface full surface under the PVA support interface would help the PVA to stick to the PLA support.
But I'm unsure this configuration exists.
Has anyone find a way of composing support this way ?

Thanks for your help !

Support interface composition.png

10 hours ago, AlexisHBX said:

The only parameter helping was increasing the (PLA) support density making a more solid base for the PVA but printing time is highly impacted.

There's a setting called "Gradual Support Infill Steps" (and a corresponding step height). This may work for your purpose.

I would advise you to keep a close look on your printer when using "Gradual Infill" settings. this setting has caused my printer to fail badly more then ones. And one of the times it was close to do damage to the print head.

I have had a good experience using Pla for all support settings (15% density) and only Pva on Support roof and floor setting. to give the Pva some more structure i set up the "support roof/floor thickness" to both 0.6mm. 

If you have problems whit the Pva sticking to the Pla try and increase the Pva tempter a few degrease.

• Like 1

39 minutes ago, NBull said: