Nozzle height vs "Initial Layer Height"

Reywas

Posted · Nozzle height vs "Initial Layer Height"

Hi,

I'm just getting started in 3D printing and I'm having trouble understanding the relationship between the  nozzle height at Z = 0 (against the Z end-stop) and the CURA setting "Initial Layer Height".  The setup instructions for my Ender 3 printer tell me to home the printer (against the Z end-stop) and use the paper-drag method to tram the bed.  So, hypothetically, if using that method I end up with a 0.25mm gap between the nozzle and the bed at Z = 0 and the "Initial Layer Height" is set at 0.3mm, how high is the nozzle above the bed?  Intuitively I would say the answer is 0.55mm but it seems to me that, if that is correct, I would need to set my "Initial Layer Height" to 0.05mm to actually get the desired 0.3mm height.  

Thanks for your help,

Paul 

Posted (edited) · Nozzle height vs "Initial Layer Height"

I can see where this could be confusing at first.

The zero position for Z is with the nozzle above the build surface by some distance, often a thickness of paper.  The Initial layer height is referring to the actual thickness that the printer is trying to print in the first layer - not the Z position.  A good practice for strong adhesion to the build surface is to print a little more material than the actual gap from the nozzle to the bed.  In your numbers above, your printer should extrude enough material in the first layer to a achieve a .3mm layer, however there is only .25mm of space.  This will result in the material being slightly smashed into the printer bed promoting good adhesion.