Support inside the printed element

Posted · Support inside the printed element

Hi Cura.

I have been using Cura slicing software for a couple of years now are very satisfied with the results. 

However yesterday i tried to printing a auger with two different increases, and half of it looked fine but the other half was very fragile.
When i looked at the layers inside the slicer i spotted that on some layers the support was inside the printed element.

Can somebody tell me what I have configured wrong in my configuration to end up with this result?
Thanks in advance

PrintedElementWithoutSupport.png

SupportInsidePrintedElement.png

FTFT5_Snegl.3mf

The model has all sorts of STL errors. Basically, it is not watertight. Here is a pic of the STL Check I ran in 3DS MAX. What this does is prevent the slicer from detecting a true inside and outside, therefore putting support everywhere. I am going out on a limb and guessing this is another Sketchup file.

STLErrors.thumb.jpg.76de6087a178b1d190af81443719a002.jpg

Thanks for the feedback.
    I am not using Sketchup, but I am using freecad to make the 3D models in. 
    But now I at least know where the root cause of the problem is.
    Can any of you recommend a tool to validate the stl files with?
    Thanks in advance

I think this is the leading STL checker online: https://service.netfabb.com/login.php

I thought freecad had a better reputation than this seems to present.

I haven't used FreeCAD for STL-export, so I can't comment on this specific issue.