Only exporting exterior faces into Cura

Posted (edited) · Only exporting exterior faces into Cura

I’ve exported this model into Cura, but it seems to only be seeing the external faces.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
I’m a beginner with cura so please be patient with me. Thanks.

CFFFP_usb holder.gcode

Edited by KateE

Posted · Only exporting exterior faces into Cura

The short answer is that in sketchup by default walls are white on the outside and gray on the inside.  Right click on any visible gray walls and select "reverse faces" until all faces are white.

The longer answer is here - and I really recommend you read this if you will be using sketchup a lot:

https://i.materialise.com/blog/3d-printing-with-sketchup/

It's a *very* easy read.  A quick read.  #9 is probably your issue but it could be one of the other sketchup gotchas.

Sketchup is designed for architectural models and although it can do almost anything it doesn't do solid real-world parts/prints as well.  If you are still new to sketchup then you might want to skip to a different cad package.  This is an incredibly simple and spot on guide for picking a good cad:

https://www.gliffy.com/go/publish/5271448

I cant upload my sketchup file here, but all the faces are white. And im 99.99% sure ive done everything else there to make the model printable.

I also just downloaded a model from thingiverse and the same thing was happening, its as if it cant see anything from a different angle than directly at the side.

you can see in the solid view how it's meant to look. But, you can see how its cutting out bits in the layer view.

solid view.JPG

layer view.JPG

Oh!!!  You should have shown a photo originally, lol.

The problem here is that your wall is too thin for one of the hexagons.  You have lots of options.