Making pieces that fit together

Posted · Making pieces that fit together

newbie here. I've got a project made in two parts and now I'm working on how to make the two parts fit together nicely. I don't really want to glue them. I want to insert a top piece into a base. The more I think about it the more complicated it seems. Both to model (FreeCAD) the required shapes and the choice of geometry. Maybe this problem has a name. Anyway, I'd appreciate some tips and/or links.

If you are on Windows, I would suggest you try DesignSpark Mechanical for editing: this is also free (just requires registration) and is much easier and more stable than FreeCAD. There are a lot of good tutorials on Youtube. Have a look at them and see if you like its concept. Or try any of the free online-programs (I have no experience with them).

Then for mounting, in my experience:

For multiple-part objects, I often mount them with nylon screws and nuts. Provide the holes and hex-indents for the nut and screw in the model, so they sit recessed and are easy to assemble and disassemble.

Press-fitting parts requires a lot of testing to get it right, and PLA (and lots of other 3D-printing materials) tend to creep under mechanical loads, so they deform over time. So the fitting may become loose.

Snap-lockings work well for PET. For PLA they work when inserting, but after a year the PLA gets harder, and then the snap-locks break apart when you try to unlock them.

3D-printing screws and threads is hard, and tapping them is even harder, especially in PLA: this melts almost immediately.

Glueing with cyanoacrylate works pretty well for PLA. Depending on the circumstances, this can be a good option.

One of many possibilities of a clamping bolt and nut (this one has to slide and be adjustable):

ostroncp_v20170104c.thumb.jpg.6dae46fd9b48b292823335415abefbf4.jpg