Stuttering in y-axis. grinding sound heard.

jareneo

Posted · Stuttering in y-axis. grinding sound heard.

Hi guys, I'm new to both Ultimaker and this forum. I just fixed my Ultimaker set few days ago and have been using it to print a couple of items and it was totally fine.

However, moments ago, it suddenly started to make a lot of grinding sound as the extruder head moves in the y-axis. It was so bad till the entire machine was vibrating.

At first I thought it was probably because the head was touching the platform and so I lowered the platform to such that the head was definitely not touching it anymore. Then I used "Bed Leveling Wizard" in Cura once more to test the movement of the XY Axis again. But the stuttering and vibration still exist.

Then I thought maybe the pulley was loose.. I doubled checked it's tight and pretty sure it's not due to the pulley's looseness as well.

I have been examining this issue for a couple of hours now, but still couldnt have a reason for the grinding sound and vibration.

I've recorded a video but the audio isn't that great, may need you guys to volume up a little and hopefully these will not trouble you too much.

You can hear the grinding sound difference especially at the part between 0:50 to 1:05 when the extruder head was moving across the front right corner.

And as you can see from the picture below, the result from the bed leveling wizard often ends up this way.

snj2.jpg

Please assist me on this, I will really appreciate it. And thank you.

I couldn't hear it. Sorry. Whatever it is -- it is very quiet compared to the printer. It doesn't sound serious. Consider removing the extruder servo from the back of the machine while doing this levelling wizard to see if that changes the sound.