groone

How to print items that hang down

Posted · How to print items that hang down

I'm new to 3d printing, so hopefully this is something with an easy answer.  I have a model that I made in blender that is of a robot running.  one of his legs sticks out at a downward angle.  The printer tries to print the leg inline with the other lines but since there is nothing there the filament just goops.  I'm assuming it would do this for the arms that are lower but have no base.  How would I print this model?  I've attached it for help.  It needs to be scaled in Ultimaker CUra.  Anyhow thank you for any answers.  This just confuses me for some reason, so many settings and I really don't know what they all do.  I couldn't find a pdf for the Ultimaker Cura. 

robotv2_5.stl

You have to enable supports, then Cura builds a kind of support structure below those areas. Normally the support can be removed easily after the print and you just have to do some cleanup on the surface.

To enable the support, just click the checkbox on the recommended settings page.

• Like 1

Enable the standard supports as Smithy says, or design your own custom supports into the model. Sometimes custom supports may be desirable in special circumstances: for example to make the support stiffer so you can more easily grab and pull it out with pliers, or to make it extend so you can grab it, or to make special holes in it to insert hooks.

Usually I prefer to design custom supports into my models, so I have full control. Except for large and easy to reach areas, where the standard supports do a very good job.